Tuesday, September 19, 2017

First Board of Studies meeting of the Department of Geology

First Board of Studies meeting of the Department of Geology, Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan was held in the Conference room Department of Geology on 09.18.2017.

Prof. Dr. Saeed Ul Islam Focal Person, Department of Geology, Chaired the meeting. The chair welcomed the participants of the 1st meeting of Board of Studies and briefed them about the academic activities going on at the department. He emphasized that the role of the members will be useful and constructive for the development of the department and its academic programs. Thereafter, the regular agenda was presented before the Board for item-wise discussion.
Other members of the Board of Studies including.

Prof.Dr. Aurangzeb Khan, Dean Faculty of Physical and Numerical Science, AWKUM
Prof. Dr. Sajjad Ahmad, Chairman, Department of Geology, University of Peshawar
Prof. Dr. Fayyaz Ali, Department of Geology, University of Peshawar
Dr. Sohail Wahid, Assistant Professor, National Center of Excellence in Geology (NCEG), University of Peshawar.
Prof. Dr. Sajjad Ahmad, Chairman, Department of Statistics, AWKUM
Mr. Amjad Ali Khan, Deputy General Manager Exploration (DGM)-Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Oil and Gas Company Limited (KPOGCL).
Mr. Muhammad Yaseen, Lecturer, Department of Geology, AWKUM
Mr. Emad Ullah Khan, Lecturer, Department of Geology, AWKUM
Mr. Junaid Ali Shah. Research Assistant, Department of Geology, AWKUM

And all other faculty members of the Department of Geology, Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan attended the meeting. The Meeting was started with the recitation of the Holy Quran. After that all member of the BOS were introduced.

In this meeting the current BS Curriculum of Geology thoroughly discussed. All members gave their technical inputs for the improvement of Curriculum and the following decisions were made:
HEC revised Curriculum for BS (Geology) was approved.
The designed Logo for Department of Geology, AWKUM was approved with technical input from Prof. Dr. Sajjad Ahmad, Chairman Department of Geology, UOP.
Proposal for MoU with KPOGCL was approved and was decided that the final signing ceremony will be held soon in AWKUM.
It was decided that MoU will be signed with Department of Geology, UOP in order to facilitate students with their advanced technical lab.

At the end, Prof. Dr. Saeed Ul Islam, Focal Person, Department of Geology thanked all members of the Board of Studies. 

Newspaper Cutting "First Day of New Vice Chancellor at AWKUM"

Monday, September 18, 2017

Notification / Office Order From Office of The Registrar

B.A / B.Sc Supplementary Examination 2017

Professor Dr. M. Khurshid Khan, Newly Appointed Vice-Chancellor of AWKUM, Will Take Charge of His Office Today

Prof. Dr. Khan received his BEng, MBA and PhD degrees from the University of Bradford, UK in 1983, 1987 and 1997, respectively. His research expertise include experimental and theoretical study of air turbulence and heat transfer in Nuclear Advanced Gas-cooled Reactor (AGR) Boilers.

During 1987 to 1990, Prof. Dr. Khan worked for Pepsi-Cola International as a Technical Services Manager in the Middle East, Far East and African Regions. In 1990, he joined the School of Engineering, University of Bradford, UK, as a Professor of Manufacturing Systems Engineering. 

He has held a number of Academic as well as Administrative positions within University of Bradford: Director of Studies (Design), Director of Studies (Mechanical Engineering), Associate-Dean (International Programmes: ADIP), Associate-Dean (Learning and Teaching), member of the School Executive and member of senior committees of the University.

His research interests also include Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Knowledge-Based Systems and their applications to Sustainable Manufacturing & Quality Systems, Strategy, Planning, Control, Scheduling, and Supply Chain Management. He has published over 100 journal/conference papers, and has supervised over 18 PhD and 6 MPhil scholars in these areas. He has also had research collaboration with local (NTR Weatherby, Flexitallic), national (Ford, BAE Systems) and international (Proton, Profen, Perodua) manufacturing organisations. He has organised and Chaired 3 International Conferences on Manufacturing Engineering (2011, 1999 and 1996) for the University of Bradford, UK and has been on the International Organizing Committee for 20 research conferences.